Chapter 2 is now posted of my first story ever and I'm not sure if I have what it takes to write. It's a story about the trials and tribulations of Andy Collins and friends as he confronts his sexual orientation in a small mining town of Pine Hills nestled away in the Appalachian Mountains of Eastern Kentucky.

Please read and let me know what you think about the first chapter of the first story I've written.

Trials and Tribulations

Posted Image

Well, you asked, so I'll tell you ... but I will preface this with the admonition that I don't read stories until they are complete. So I have only read a few paragraphs to see if it is worthwhile waiting for.

You have a writing style / voice which has that clarity that some of the very best writers on here have. And as a critical writer, I find that very good. I've just finished reading Dark's Waylon's Crossing and he is very similar, as is Shadowgod and Jack Scribe. So it seems to me you are in good company there, Mr..

I'd have a couple of things to say as advice, though. Firstly, watch your punctuation. Some people hate starting sentences with 'and' (Cia will descend like a flock of wraiths for that one ... only kidding, Cia :P ), but you have started one sentence with 'and' where it should plainly have been a comma, not a new sentence. Btw, I really like starting sentences with 'and' :D

Secondly, and this is far the more important... your lovely clear voice is being diminished by a tendency to add in little asides all over the joint. This clutters up the writing and really detracts from your object.

I hope that helps :)

Otherwise, I can't wait for it to be finished, but please don't make me wait too long, please :D