[Lugh] "Oidcha Shamhna" by Lugh

Oidcha Shamhna by Lugh

Lugh's Fall Anthology story

***Possible Spoilers***

In this fascinating tale Lugh tells the story of a human sacrifice from his perspective. This tragic figure seemed destined for the fate all along. His name was "Sacrifice", he was cursed by a priest, and he was always different, longing to be with the men instead of the women. This sacrifice is necessitated when the main character picks up a stone which has broken in half due to the intense heat of an "All Hallow's Eve" fire.

One cannot help but empathize with the main character and his unfortunate plight, especially when the poignant final words are read:

I lean my head back and listen as the angels call my name

Edited by Kitty

Well this is my very first time to read something of Lughs, and I have to say, his writing really draws me in. His vivid description really delivers the story.

The story of "Sacrifice" and his final hours is an interesting one. A short and powerful story, full of imagery and strength.

Good Job Lugh :2thumbs:

LOVED IT! Though I didn't realize that because the rock was picked up that Winter was sacrificed. These were christian people, I thought, burning a witch. Christians do not generally make human sacrifices if I remember correctly. They started wars, and burned innocent people to death during those times. Got to love a focused bible beater... they are very motivated people.

Whatever take you have on this story I think it was beautifully written. I felt the impending doom througout each paragraph, but at the end didn't feel so bad that it was about to happen. It was a very interesting emotional mix for me.

Thank you Lugh... I loved it!

I agree! Awesome job Lugh!

As Juss mentioned, it's Lugh's descriptive style that distinguishes his writing for me. The paragraphs are so rich with imagery that the reader is transported in time and place to another world. It's why I enjoy the fantasy genre so much.