Jump to content


Welcome to Gay Authors

Confused? Check out one of our guides to using Gay Authors. I am here to ... Read  Write  Socialize  eBooks

If you need assistance, click  Contact Us  on the bottom of all the pages. You can remove this help box by  Signing In  or  Creating An Account  for free today!

Recent Story Updates


An English Teen, Circumcised in the USA Reviews

milotin%s's Photo

Yesterday, 05:20 PM

(Chapter 12 Review)

I just wanted to say how awesome it is that ET is back. I was totally hooked on this story when it was originally being posted, and it's so exciting to be reading it again and following the trials and tribulations of not just Luke, but Simon, Ryan and Toby. So, a huge thank you for posting again!
Milo
peethree%s's Photo

May 16 2015 07:33 PM

(Chapter 3 Review)

Jumping up and down when we get I saw this story had returned.
Ron%s's Photo

Aug 15 2013 08:21 PM

(Chapter 10 Review)

Great bit of tension with the search for the newspaper at home. The release at the mention of coupons was spot on.
IanGf%s's Photo

Mar 24 2013 05:36 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

This is really getting good! Thanks RJ
IanGf%s's Photo

Mar 23 2013 08:12 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

interesting very interesting. i think this is going to be fun to see through
CW Prince%s's Photo

Dec 09 2012 08:21 PM

(Chapter 8 Review)

We now see that Luke and Elliot have had their first sighting of each other. That was an interesting tactic used there by Elliot. Smooth and not to obvious, lol....who are we kidding??...He intentionally and blatantly pulled his shirt up to be flirty and a tease to Luke. I am guessing that quite some time has passed for Elliot. I just don't see him being like that unless quite a bit of time has passed and he has learned to live with the pain of his loss.

ps... :( I must not be a very good 'gay boy' as I don't have an iPhone LOL ;)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Ah - you've found Elliott at last! Yes, it's a few years on since ISH, but where he fits in ET is yet to be told. A tease? You bet it had to be!

Riley
CW Prince%s's Photo

Nov 28 2012 09:52 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

Still loving the story although I must admit. I don't see the big deal that Luke is making over all this circumcision thing. Maybe its just me. I do tend to be a live and let live kinda of guy though. Each to their own! I also think Luke and Ryan would make a rather cute couple :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Luke is definitely getting into a knot about circumcision. I think his problem is that it's becoming unhelpful lay intertwined with his feelings of attraction for guys - and Ryan in particular. At the same time, he has a point - when you've been dragged away from 'home' the last thing you want is to keep feeling left out.

We'll have to see about him and Ryan

Thanks for the review
CW Prince%s's Photo

Nov 28 2012 07:44 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

A rather interesting thought. Could both brothers be gay? That would certainly put a twist to the family. Again I'm loving the closeness of the brothers in this story. The respect and confidence they have in each other. Maybe Luke should confide in Simon his possible feelings for his best friend. Maybe that is for another day. We'll see.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Who knows about what route either brother will take. Gay or not, it's quite a journey! I don't think Luke is anywhere near opening up about what HE thinks yet, though. Glad to see your review.

Riley
Rano%s's Photo

Nov 28 2012 05:17 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Three years since the Summers family has emigrated - so Luke must be 15 years old. 'K, just had to get my bearing ;)
I appreciate the background info, i.e. contrasting Brittain with the US, bringing us to "the world of the circumcised dick":
Had to laugh about the description of the clipped willy's in the school showers, and I must add that in my country it is - or maybe nowadays was - just the other way around when we were younger. It used to be the clipped ones that were the odd ones out Posted Image Talk about cultural differences heh
Lucy to Geoff, "Luke seems to think he needs to be circumcised" (my italics). Yikes! From what I've gathered so far is that poor Luke is the one in dire need to be circumcised, and maybe Luke's dad should not have repeated his gramp's quip of "If it's not bust, don't fix it!" I find it slightly difficult to accept that Luke's folks - or at least his dad - didn't try to do a physical fatherly check-up. Really...
And if I may add, clipping is definitely not the one and only argument for "health and wholesomeness" downstairs. Proper parental instruction/education for young ones will allow them to remain not only intact but healthy and clean as well. 'K, I guess I've belaboured this specific point by now :P Anyways, so far I really enjoy this story tremendously - just a bit of soliloquy-ing going on in my skull-congregation whilst enjoying this read Posted Image
Ta stax for sharing with us, Riley Posted Image

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi again Rano. Yep, Luke is definitely getting fascinated with the uncovered
glans! Like in your country, he would hardly ever see one in the UK. His Dad is probably right, but there more at stake for Luke here than is at first apparent. Again, you have to relies they are Brits. Some things you just don't talk about!

Thanks for the review,
Riley
CW Prince%s's Photo

Nov 28 2012 12:48 AM

(Chapter 3 Review)

Interesting story so far. Quite a unique subject being discussed as well. I'm loving the closeness of the brothers and no I'm not speaking of the bedroom scene between them. I'm speaking of the closeness they have with talking and being able to share. The mom seems a bit high strung but rather nicely balanced by the dad's laid back attitude. I think this will be an interesting ride reading this story. One I will thoroughly enjoy. Looking forward to the next chapters.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi there! I think you're right about their mum - needs to make sure everything is right for her kids! Glad yo've started the read and I'm looking forward to hearing your take on the chapters.

Thanks for reviewing.
Riley
Rano%s's Photo

Nov 26 2012 11:21 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

Seems to me I'm lagging behind the crowd, but here I am to offer my off-beat (?) opinion of this very interesting prologue. I must admit that it would have taken me much longer to open this story-file if it was not that I've enjoyed Riley's In Safe Hands just recently...
Firstly let me state that in this very first installment there is quite a clear object lesson for any male who has not been circumcised Posted Image
It's amazing how often one hear of menfolk who are in need of surgery just because they have not been taught by their parents to retract their foreskins and clean appropriately when the have a bath or shower - if this simple routine has been instilled from childhood, how could there ever be occasion for such drastic measures of wiggling some cold chrome instruments under the cav of the patient? It's rather beyond me that Luke did not know that 'under ther' actually existed! Really - and this is not meant judgmentally at all. So much more reason for a socalled enlightened age to arrive properly where there ain't no bashfulness or false modesty not to want to tallk aobut these essential personal hgiene "tricks" that needs to be administered on a daily basis. And, yes, hoping against hope that all "untouched" gaylings reading this story will take note. Who ever would have thought that GA could be the ideal primer in many respects for many dirrerent kind of readers Posted Image
In closing, I really appreciated that bit about nothing on but his t-shirt and socks! Me thinx its rather sexy Posted Image
Ta stax, Riley, for - what I can allready feel in my bones - is going to be another great story Posted Image

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi there Rano - and welcome to ET!
There's certainly some things that will come out in regards to circumcision, though the story is much much more than that. Should Luke have known about retracting foreskins? Possibly not if his very British patents didn't think to have it checked. One of the strings to the tale is the differences in cultures - even between countries that - nearly - speak the same language?

Thanks for reviewing - and hope you keep at it!
Riley
Low Flyer%s's Photo

Nov 06 2012 03:13 PM

(Chapter 11 Review)

I guess it's a lot easier to come out when you're a bit older. Everything looks so much bigger from inside than it really is. At least, that's been my experience.
I gather that total trims are OK even amongst straight guys at school. There's nothing like the feel of freshly shaved balls though. And a neat trim up top looks much better.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Low Flyer. I think a good trim is a must. One reviewer - a lade - thought that men need to keep it under control too....manscaping, she called it!

Thanks for reading.
Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Sep 24 2012 02:09 PM

(Story Review)

I forgot to ask you Riley: wasn't Elliot (from the Elliot and Miguel story) sort of introduced in this story, way back when they were at the mall? I thought Luke was going to meet Elliot in some way.......
Carrie76%s's Photo

Sep 09 2012 11:00 PM

(Chapter 12 Review)

I am glad to see Luke figuring out who he is and he seems to be dealing well with it. I am curious to see what happens with DamonJ. I think he will help him alot. I can't wait to see what happens. Please post fast.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hello Carrie, and thanks for the review. Damon certainly has the insight to help Luke, though whether he can help from where he is, is another question.
Lisa%s's Photo

Sep 09 2012 08:14 PM

(Chapter 12 Review)

It's great that Luke finally came to the realization that he's gay; that was a big step for him. I'm glad that Damon was able to confide in him the frustration of feeling like you have to live in the closet.

Luke should tell Simon though. If Simon finds out that Luke has realized this for some time, he will be upset that Luke didn't trust him enough to tell him. And like Luke said, he can at least talk to Simon about it and vice-versa.

Great chapter Riley! :) Looking forward to C-day! lol

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa. It’s true, Damon may well be able to bring something important into the mix – time will tell. You’re right though. Luke needs to start talking to Simon before too long.
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Sep 09 2012 02:25 PM

(Chapter 12 Review)

On the surface it seems that Luke is well adjusted about his revelation. He's accepted the fact that he's gay but he still has to deal with if and how to come out. Plus his other issues- the circumcision and being an expat.

I really enjoy your stories. The characters are so complex and their growth is quiet amazing. Thank you for the update.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks for the review.
I think that the more that he thinks about coming out, the less likely he’ll have the courage to do so…unless something pushes him over the edge, so to speak. The whole circumcision deal is a strange one for him, and is confusingly bound up with how he perceives both his and the sexuality of those around him. Don’t expect the story to be with out some twists and turns!
Mike00%s's Photo

Sep 02 2012 06:57 PM

(Chapter 11 Review)

Great update, I enjoyed it.
His curiousity in the gym locker room reminded me of my own curious times back in high school, lol. Comparing the other guys etc. Lucky Ryan bought Luke's half truth excuse, too.
Awesome!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Mike - thanks for the note. Luke had a lucky escape that day, for sure. He's gonna need to figure it all out soon though or it's going to drive him crazy!

Riley
Hector Q Sanchez%s's Photo

Sep 02 2012 05:28 PM

(Chapter 11 Review)

HI Riley, Welcome Back. Hope you had a great summer. Now that that is out of the way, I am likiing this story very much. You come across as a very knowledgeable author and that makes this story believeable. Please keep it going. Thanks for your fine upstanding authorship.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks for the review and your kind words, Hector. Yep , it's been a busy summer - and a wet one here in the UK. Glad you're enjoying the story.
Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Sep 02 2012 12:14 PM

(Chapter 11 Review)

So glad to see Luke and Simon back! :)

And every boy needs to know about manscaping. lol It's not just for the boys you know. =) Girls like it too.

I am surprised Luke didn't tell his best friend Ryan about his circumcision plans. Even though he wanted this, he is doing it mainly because it's medically necessary. Why wouldn't he share something like this with Ryan? And why didn't Ryan even question it? Why isn't he wondering why on earth his best friend wants to go under the knife for something like this?

Anyway, great chapter as always Riley. =)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa - thanks for the review!

Manscaping?? Never heard it called that, before!

Luke hasn't wanted to talk about his circumcision op because, medical necessity or not, he's a guy - and a little confused to boot. The fact that Ryan hasn't pushed for more information from Luke is an unknown.

We'll have to see how it develops!

Riley
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Sep 02 2012 08:46 AM

(Chapter 11 Review)

Luke's fantasy with Ryan "mirrored" my own experience of self discovery. I had always been gay but it was that alone point where I found myself fantasizing about some of the boys in my class that it hit me. Hopefully Luke deals with it better than I did at the time.

Great chapter and thank you for updating. Everyone's lives are busy but I really enjoy this story.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

I think you're right, everyone comes to a point of self discovery. For some it hits them suddenly, others, that discovery takes time and is slow coming. Luke was like that - and maybe that slow realisation helps him deal better with it.

Thanks for the review.

Riley
Andrew_Q_Gordon %s's Photo

Sep 01 2012 01:06 PM

(Chapter 11 Review)

You're still writing?? :o

Okay never mind that - I liked this chapter quite a bit. Well aside from Luke using his dad's beard clipper to trim his nads. Remind me to NEVER leave the hair trimmer alone when you're around. :rolleyes:

The part with Ryan was really well done. I like how his interest is conveyed, but not so, and that Ryan is completely unreadable. If he finds out Luke's into him will Ryan kirk out? Kiss him? Shrug it off? No way to tell at this point. Posted Image [I'd give you an around the world and back snap, but there isn't an emoticon for that.]

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Still writing? LOL - you know I am! Though I give you the benefit of the doubt!

For sure, Ryan is a bit of an unknown quantity. It's impossible to say right now whether he'll remain close friend or fierce enemy: perhaps he has the capability for both.

Thanks for the review and patient help, Andy...
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Jun 10 2012 02:27 PM

(Chapter 10 Review)

Poor Simon! His angst, misgivings, loneliness and aching were portrayed well without being over the top or maudlin. Good job.
Now get the next chapter to your beta reader!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Am getting there!! Well...kind of!
Gandalf%s's Photo

Jun 10 2012 10:47 AM

(Chapter 10 Review)

So great to have you back. I was afeard you were not doing well and worried for you. It is of course great to see you back and updating your great story. I would have hated to see it cut short....

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Am still here - just overly busy. Wish had more time to sit and write!

Thanks for the review!
scavola%s's Photo

Jun 09 2012 09:09 PM

(Chapter 1 Review)

I blame you for my not getting sleep last night!
I found the title titillating, and saw that it took place in North Georgia, having just moved from Dahlonega myself. I thought I’d sample a chapter or two, just to see, but got sucked in and read all ten. I enjoyed the story, the writing was good, and I look forward to it being continued, but I do have some comments:
To me, this story should be written from the first person, especially as it has a tone of being told in reflection, through experience, than from the point of view of a young teenager; if it were ‘of the moment’, his uncertainty, as a young teenager, doesn’t work well for me. Also, I found the ancillary scenes, without Ryan, a little jarring.
I can see this getting gratuitous, as in the water bottle scene. What you’re writing is bold and rings true, but should be focused to your audience. If this is for young men, then it’s too explicit. If this is for older men, then it runs the risk of being porn.
It also needs to be edited for content. You present such strong characters and situations that I found myself skipping over sections of nostalgia, looking for what happens next.
Like I said, I look forward to reading more, and seeing what happens to the guys.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Sorry I missed replying to the review, as it was linked to an earlier chapter. Firstly thanks for reading. I guess everyone writes in their own way. Mine might be a little weird in terms of perspective, but I hope you still find it readable.

Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Jun 09 2012 12:36 PM

(Chapter 10 Review)

Yay you're back! I was getting worried, :(

Simon's turmoil and his inner angst were so well written. I just wish Luke would fess up to Simon so at least they would both have someone to talk to.

I could also feel Luke's inner struggle with going along with the Landon and his stupid insults, or sticking up for his brother. (well, not directly at least) I think it's only the most confident of kids who would be a mensch and call Landon out on his discriminatory insults. Even though Ryan didn't do this, thank God he did say something when all Landon wanted to do was help beat up that kid.

Great chapter Riley. I'm glad you're back. :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

A bit of turmoil is always good for the soul! Thanks for the review, Lisa!
Andrew_Q_Gordon %s's Photo

Jun 09 2012 07:01 AM

(Chapter 10 Review)

Enjpy?? What the hell is that? Another Rileyism??? :rolleyes:

Honestly, this was one of your better chapters - Simons internal angst was amazingly well done - I think I told you that when I read it over for you - but really, reading it again you really have a great feel for that kind of writing. I could feel Si's turmoil - and in a way remember feeling that way eons ago - I'm old after all so it's been a hot minute since I was that age. 0:)

Hopefully you're back for a bit and we can get on with the rest of this - I mean I'm your bloody beta reader and you only give me one chapter at a time so I'm not any further ahead than anyone else. <_<

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks mate! Will get next one on your screen soon....ish!
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Jun 08 2012 05:29 PM

(Chapter 10 Review)

This was a great chapter. The characters are really developing and I really felt how conflicted Luke was throughout the name calling.

Great chapter! Hope to see another one soon (but don't feel pressured!)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks - writing when I get the chance!
Lisa%s's Photo

Jun 07 2012 02:47 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

Hey Riley, I hope everything's ok with you. It's been about two months since you updated this great story and that's not like you. lol

So, I'm just checking to make sure you're all right...

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

I'm good, Lisa. Thanks for asking.
genx_geny%s's Photo

Mar 23 2012 04:29 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

Yep, still enjoying the story thus far, only dimmed slightly with the agonized waiting for the next installment to hit the screen... but it's a "good" pain and instills a sense of patience in my sense of self ;-)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Was a long wait. sorry about that.
Mike00%s's Photo

Mar 21 2012 05:48 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

Loved it! I'm liking how it's coming along, and poor Simon. Maybe someone should talk to him about non-circumcision phimosis correction, If circumcision isn't for him. -- I also liked getting a glimpse behind Si' in the first half of this chapter while Luke was at the mall.
Can't wait for more to come. :-)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

More came! Eventually !!
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Mar 20 2012 08:38 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

Good job Riley. Nice development of the story.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks.
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Mar 20 2012 05:23 PM

(Chapter 9 Review)

Poor Simon. I feel like you're giving us as readers a clearer view on his and Toby's relationship that Si has. They're perfect together :/

There was a feeling of unease throughout this chapter and I find myself waiting for the other shoe to drop. I can't wait for it.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

They're certainly interesting together. We'll have to see where it goes. Thanks for reading!
Lisa%s's Photo

Mar 13 2012 07:20 PM

(Chapter 8 Review)

Totally threw me off on who everyone is talking about! I guess it's because from the way I read it, the family that came into the store, had a little girl and two brothers, but for some reason I was thinking the brothers were close in age. Dunno why I thought that.

Now of course I know I'm wrong. lol

Hopefully Luke will see him again. :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hopefully, Lisa, yes - but what his purpose here is, is anyone's guess. A case of watch and wait, I think.
Riley
wildone%s's Photo

Mar 11 2012 10:39 PM

(Chapter 8 Review)

I may or may not know who the other guy is too 0:)

Great chapter Riley, I really enjoyed it :P

I have to admit, with the whole thing about Luke's Mom joining him at the doctor's in the last chapter and his idle conversation with his Dad about his phimosis, I certainly can't relate. Growing up, it was never discussed or shown to anyone. To tell the truth, I just found our a couple of years ago that my dad isn't circumcised. Weird eh?

I would hope that most families could talk this way but looking back I would have died of horror if my dad, or even my mom, discussed my penis with me :o

Looking forward to more :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi there! I guess many have made the connection with our friend in the opticians. i find it fun that we know who he is, but Luke doesn't. We'll have to see where it goes.

My story is similar to yours - we never talked about such things, growing up, either. Perhaps it would have helped if we had.

Glad you're still enjoying - and thanks for the review.
Riley
Mike00%s's Photo

Mar 11 2012 08:29 AM

(Chapter 8 Review)

Hmm.. could this boy be a character I recognise from elsewhere? ;) Great to see him added to the mix, and looking forward to seeing where things go from here.
As to the 10% circ' I noticed in the gym class - I can remember 3 boys excluding myself being done, in a class of about 30 ish.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

You recognise him? Hard to miss him really…! He was always going to be in the story - in fact, the purpose of what was written elsewhere was for this very reason. So, we'll see what he has to bring….
Andrew_Q_Gordon %s's Photo

Mar 11 2012 07:35 AM

(Chapter 8 Review)

Ri,

So I generally don't like to comment on stories I beta for, because I worry about giving away something I know that the readers don't, but I wanted to comment here. The last part where Luke 'meets' umm well someone we know from somewhere else :whistle: Watch Luke interact with 'him' I could totally 'see' the shop, the way 'him' was dressed, the way Luke stretched out watching, how he ignored the giggling girls, etc. That's really great stuff when the reader can see what's happening clearly in their mind. So Posted Image on chapter 8!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Andy - thanks for taking the time to drop a note, as if you don't already do masses to help keep the story moving forward!

'Him', as you say, has put in an appearance. Readers are going to have to do their own research to get to the bottom of that one! It's still anyone's guess as to where that will go in the story.

Next chapter soon!

Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Mar 10 2012 06:19 PM

(Chapter 8 Review)

And so it begins. Our soon to be cut protagonist is definitely showing signs of being interested in a guy.Posted Image And iPhones!Posted Image

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

He sure is showing signs! No iPhone? All gay guys have iPhones...!
Lisa%s's Photo

Mar 08 2012 03:36 PM

(Chapter 7 Review)

Hey Riley! A very informative chapter! lol Well, it turns out that Luke actually NEEDS the surgery. And is it hereditary? Is that why Simon may need it too?

I'll tell you; I'm sure I would have turned away or even walked to another part of the room when the doctor was examining Luke. Being a mother myself, I would have given my kid some 'privacy', and only looked if the doctor thought I needed to see for myself.

Oh, the doctor mentioned two different ways of doing the surgery. Freehand resection and a SmartKlamp. What's freehand resection as opposed to the Smartklamp?

I find the whole procedure very manageable; it's not like one long drawn out surgery.

I look forward t the next chapter Riley. I'm certainly learning something here! lol

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa. Yep - Luke suffers from Phimosis, but I'm sure they'll be able to sort him out. I don't think that Lucy is the type of mum to leave things to chance - especially when she feels quite strongly about it herself. There was no way she wasn't going to find out what was going on.

A freehand resection would be when a surgeon would take a scalpel and literally slice away a section of foreskin by hand. Lots of stitches needed!

Glad you're still enjoying the tale.

Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Mar 07 2012 12:23 AM

(Chapter 7 Review)

Good job of explaining something most of us never want to experience. (phimosis)
I never quite understood those unalterably opposed to circumcision and yet there doesn't seem to be the same hue and cry against piercings or even tattoes on the penis, never mind metal bandings etc.
Poor Simon, he too will probably have to undergo a procedure.
Choosing 'high and tight' seems a bit drastic after having a long dangling prepuce, especially with the shaft skin already stretched?!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Dave. Thanks for another review!

I hear what you say about the circ 'mindset'. I guess it's more about the procedure in babies rather than something chosen by a capable adult that gets people riled. As I said to DK, the story won't be about that.

'High' is a no-brainer. 'Tight'? Well, with that, I think we're beginning to see how much Luke finds guys bits something of a turn on!

Poor Simon, indeed! I don't think his mum is going to show much mercy!

Riley
dkstories%s's Photo

Mar 06 2012 06:23 PM

(Chapter 7 Review)

Always embarrassing when the parent has to be there. I have noticed that the frequency of circumcision in the US has changed a lot. Rural, more conservative areas see it more frequently than urban, more liberal areas. Still, I like the approach this story has taken to the overall issues.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi there - great to hear from you! I think that if Luke had had any inkling that there would be a physical exam, he'd have found a way out of his mum joining the moment.

There's continuing change to circumcision. It may even be on the increase here in the UK, and Australia. Either way, I'm trying to stay clear of the more 'political' discussions and, instead, keep this about the personal experience of an ordinary teen.

Hope it continues to stay readable!

Riley
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Mar 06 2012 05:24 PM

(Chapter 7 Review)

And here I am, thinking that his circumcision would happen quickly. Great chapter. Really good flow and dialogue.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks Rebelghost. I enjoy writing dialogue. At least the consultation is over now, and any treatment is scheduled. It's only just the beginning of poor Luke's problems though, I'm afraid! Thanks for the review.
Mike00%s's Photo

Mar 06 2012 04:19 PM

(Chapter 7 Review)

Wow, poor Luke. Lol. How awkward with his mum being there while he was being examined.
The similarities between Luke's situation and my own keep on coming up. I went through the same experience in my local Drs with my mum also being present, and I too had phimosis, and was embarrassed with my own mother being there. Though I wasn't quite 15 at the time.
In reponse to your earlier reply .... It is fairly uncommon over here. Though judging my my own experiences in the gym showers during school. I think about 10% of us were cut . That was only about 9 or so years ago.
Another great chapter, Riley. :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks Mike. Awkward, yes - but, like your own experience, happens quite a bit.  I'm surprised you had as many as 10% at your UK school. A veritable hotspot! Or maybe mine was just low - I don't remember any. 

I'll be interested to see, as the story progresses, whether Luke's experience continues to mirror your own!
Mike00%s's Photo

Feb 29 2012 09:30 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

I'm really loving this story so far. I've always found the cross-cultural them interesting. Being British and circ'd I guess I can relate to this, that way too. I can't wait to see where you take the story next. Posted Image
- Mike

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

British and cut? A small minority! Just posted the next chapter - hope you enjoy it!

Riley
Rndmrunner%s's Photo

Feb 27 2012 11:31 AM

(Chapter 6 Review)

I'm really enjoying the story -love how it differes from the usual fare, great premise and great execution.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks! Hopefully you'll be happy to know that it's not going to end soon. There's a lot to get through and more than a few twists on the way!
Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Feb 26 2012 05:21 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

Not only did our young protagonist have to go see the urologist with his mom, but our contrary author left us dangling at the precipice....(Not the prepuce!)



View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Dangling at the prepuce? Hehe!
Thanks for that!!
Riley
genx_geny%s's Photo

Feb 26 2012 03:26 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

Love how this story is developing. Wish I could offer up some useful form of critque, but I'm too much of an advid fan of the story to pick at it. Posted Image Really just commenting here to show my appreciation.
Marcus.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Marcus. Even just dropping a note to say you've read and enjoyed is great to have. Thank you!
Riley
DutchJoey%s's Photo

Feb 26 2012 02:45 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

going for circumcision, not with dad but with your mother......

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Indeed he is Joey! Actually, they're only heading for a consultation. I think that's why Lucy is there. As she has some strong feelings about it, it make complete sense that she's not going abdicate involvement in that discussion to her husband. Luke's stuck with her, whether he likes it or not!
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Feb 26 2012 02:26 PM

(Chapter 6 Review)

I chuckled when I read the last paragraph. Poor Luke. We as the readers already know it's going to happen, but he doesn't yet.

Ryan is an interesting character. Your hints are pretty big, but Luke is oblivious as always. Great chapter and thanks for posting.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Rebelghost. It's true -the way the story lays out, we've already been on the surgery table with him, in the Prologue. The fun in this part of the story is finding out how he gets there. And Ryan? Yes there are clues, and more to come. And even more, that you don't quite expect!

Thanks for the review!
Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Feb 21 2012 08:12 PM

(Chapter 5 Review)

Well, I just got a MacBook Pro and have no freakin' idea how to use it! lol I have to wait until my fourteen year old can teach me....

I was hysterical when Luke was writing about how ordering breakfast is so different in the states than abroad. The whole egg scenerio was so funny! It had me crackin up b/c it's so true!

Anyway, nice chapter Riley; I look forward to the next one. Hopefully we'll learn a little more about Damon. :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa. I use a MacBook pro too. Love it.

Damon. Yes - quick an interesting character. We'll have to see where that goes...

Thanks for the review,
Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Feb 19 2012 05:11 PM

(Chapter 5 Review)

I think it moved the story along nicely. Luke's talk with his dad at Longhorns was insightful. Good job.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks Dave. Don't ya just love Longhorns!
Thanks for the note.
Riley
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Feb 19 2012 12:51 PM

(Chapter 5 Review)

Nice interlude chapter. It sets up future events well and we got to know more about Luke and Simon. I also enjoyed the outside perspective on America's restaurant culture. If you can't tell, I'm trying really hard not to be impatient :P

Thanks for posting and I really enjoyed reading it. Hopefully we learn more about Damon later.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

As you say, there's quite a bit of setting up in these first few chapters; introducing characters and context. It'll hit soon enough! Thanks for being patient - and thanks for the review!
Riley
genx_geny%s's Photo

Feb 12 2012 03:17 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

Absolutely love the way the story has unfolded thus far. It’s quite readable and flows well. I don’t recall any truly awkward spots. I realize gushing about the story isn’t helpful for structure, but at this point, it’s all I can offer. I like the story. Please keep writing.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Genx_geny, thanks for reviewing. To hear you're enjoying ET is great - thank you. It's taken a few chapters to set the scene. Soon we'll really get into it. I hope, by the end, you're still speaking to me!

Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Feb 11 2012 11:58 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

Well, somehow I missed the last chapter when it was posted. Must have been hiding under my rock.

I totally did not see that one coming with Simon confessing to Luke. Why didn't Luke tell Simon he was feeling the same way? But I am glad that regardless of how he's feeling, he didn't turn his brother away. I'm glad he's gonna be there for Simon if Simon needs him. I think Simon would feel better about himself if Luke confides in him too.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

I don't think Luke knows WHAT he thinks yet. He's just a teen with lots of questions. Simon is actually much more straightforward - a what you see, is what you get, kind of lad.

Lisa, if you add yourself to the 'follow this story' list and set it up right, you'll get notified when a chapter posts.

Thanks for the review.
Riley
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Feb 11 2012 06:44 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

Hm. I didn't think Simon would come out before Luke but it fits with the rest of the story. Hopefully things work out for Simon and Toby and Luke can use his observations of his brother to become more comfortable with who he is.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

We'll have to see how things go. No promises! Thanks for reviewing
Riley J
Daniel89%s's Photo

Feb 11 2012 06:37 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

I've read all four chapters, and I wanted to say that I think it's really good. The story flows easily, even when you change between present and diary. The charaters are shaping up and I want to know more about them (I just hope it's not one of them stories where "everyone" suddenly turns out to be gay). I like the british elements to the story, they feel more familliar to me (being from Europe). I really like this story and I will eagerly await more chapters. Keep it up!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Daniel. Great to know you're reading the story. It's always interesting to see how Americans and Europeans feel about the differences being portrayed.

Some of the characters will be gay, some not, and some maybe even....well - let's leave that be for now!

Thanks for the review!

Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Feb 11 2012 04:40 PM

(Chapter 4 Review)

Certainly not the 4H club....

Nice chapter!

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks! So what do you think the 4th 'H' could be?
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Feb 07 2012 09:05 PM

(Chapter 3 Review)

"I think if somebody had told me that the tip was meant to be loose and skin back down the shaft on its own accord, to show off the glans when stiff, I could have saved myself months of irritated frustration. But mine didn't and his didn't and there were no other foreskins around I could compare them too."

Aha! Now we see more of a medical reason for a possible circumcision. An unretractable foreskin is a primary risk factor for balanitis.


View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Now, there's a possibility! Time will tell.

Thanks for the review, Dave
RILey
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Feb 07 2012 05:05 PM

(Chapter 3 Review)

Thanks for posting. I wonder what Luke meant about the future in his diary?
Regarding Elliot, people don't have to worry. Nothing was revealed and if they're curious about who he is they can read your other stories. Which I highly recommend.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks for recommending my other stories. Much appreciated!

Luke's diary notes allow us to look forward, as well as back. What they reveal...well, that would be telling.

Thanks for the review
Riley
wildone%s's Photo

Feb 06 2012 04:44 AM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Who's Elliott? :unsure:

As being a first time reader to this story, I thought I would come in and leave a review. Should I stay away from the reviews if people that got to read the original release comment about what they have had the privilege to see?

Sorry, maybe that was harsh of me :( , but please try not to give away anything that I don't know as starting to only read and all the way up to Chapter 2 ;) I don't have the option to read ahead to see what is happening like a completed story has.

So I'm glad in a way that the elephant has been recognized early in the story :P . I can't help to figure that the story was about circumcision (I know, call me a genius if you want :D ). The side line at this point is Luke's interest in dicks in general, so look forward to see how that develops.

Kudos for this one line:

The one ray of hope was when the official at the customs desk looked through his spanking brand new passport and stared at him, intently. Luke glared back defiantly. Go on – throw me out – do us both a favor! But, instead of putting him back on a plane to where he rightly belonged, he’d brought his stamp down in final judgment.


I think I reread that line a couple of times so I could calm myself down from laughing so hard :P . It made me wonder, do all kids immigrating to a new country think the same thing? It would be interesting to see what would happen if Luke had taken it further :P . Having experienced US Border Guards is intimidating enough as it is, I wonder if they have an actual grace for surly, pissed off teens :P
.
Thanks for the chapter Riley, looking forward to more Posted Image

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

t's a REALLY good point that you're making Wildone!

On behalf of all those who are reading this story for the first time (at least those parts that had previously been published), can those reviewing be careful not to get carried away.

Though the writing - hopefully - is improved this time around, the main thrust of the story is unchanged. YOU might know what's coming and, trust me, it's going to be there - just be nice and don't spoil it for those who haven't got there yet!

Okay - nuff said - moving on.

Glad you liked the customs scene Wildone. Actually, I don't think those guys are capable of being anything other than intimidating! I've never met one that even smiled.

Thanks for the review,

Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Feb 05 2012 08:03 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Wait, Elliiot's coming? Then Luke should wait; Elliot isn't cut either, right?

I can see where Luke wants to fit in with his friends, but to go as far as to get circumsized at that age; I don't know. I think that'll be more painful that he realizes. They do it to boys as babies for a reason, lol.

This chapter was very comical! I'm looking forward to how he finally convinces his parents to let him go thru with it. When I read the prologue, I was under the impression that Luke came to the US just for the surgery. I wonder how he talked his parents into it. =)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa. You know I can't say, though I know you've never stepped into this story previously either.

Luke certainly has some complex reasons for wanting to go down this route and it's unclear how he's going to convince his parents. And when it comes to circumcision as a teen - I hope you aren't squeamish!

Riley
DavyReader%s's Photo

Feb 05 2012 04:22 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Luke wants to be circumcised out of conformism and because the idea arouses him. I find this an honest description of his motives. The author doesn't question them though, which I think is a bold point of view. Pretending that Luke has been convincend by the often cited medical reasons would have been much easier.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Thanks for the review Davey. One thing you CAN say - people are complicated!

Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Feb 02 2012 06:14 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Luke's mom seemed dismissive of his request. His dad's calm demeanor and concluding line about not fixing what isn't broke was slightly better. Still a lot of story to cover to getting to the part where he is cut I hope!

I'm really not in favor of any kind of 'cosmetic' surgery, just for cosmetic reasons unless it is a true deformity.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

That Luke ends up on the operating table is already in the Prologue. How, and why, he gets there is still to be discovered. It's quite a journey!

I hear what you say about what might be termed 'cosmetic'. Maybe one person's sense of personal 'deformity' is going to be different from anothers?
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Feb 02 2012 05:05 PM

(Chapter 2 Review)

Is it selfish of me to be chomping at the bit for Elliot and his brother to arrive?
Great chapter. While I don't agree with Luke's point of view his thoughts and feelings were really expressed well.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Elliott? Now that would be telling, wouldn't it! We'll have to see...

Riley
Mark M%s's Photo

Jan 22 2012 12:22 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

i've read quite a bit of this story when it was first on here, im excited your giving it another get go :D

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hello Mark.

With the help of Andy and Neph, hopefully written somewhat better now.

Thanks for the note
Gandalf%s's Photo

Jan 21 2012 07:29 PM

(Story Review)

I hope many more become friends of this great story this time around. I am so very happy to see you return to it. I have been hanging out with a Brit who had been a friend many years ago and is now back in the US. This has added a bit more color for me on this rebirth of your tale. Thanks again for a great story.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

I think you're right, culture can make quite a difference to how you interpret life - either real or in a story. Either way, I hope many enjoy reading it.

Riley
Simonjames30%s's Photo

Jan 21 2012 11:47 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

I have been looking forward for ages for this story coming back :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Simon! Well, back it is - and thanks for dropping a review to let me know you're reading.

Riley
DutchJoey%s's Photo

Jan 21 2012 05:56 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

Glad Luke is back in town(?). This was the kind of story I was looking forward to and missed it when it was discontinued.
I can't remember anything so seriously wrong that could people give reason to complain about so let us just enjoy the humour that this story has.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Joey. Well Luke never really left, but we've got back to the story and I hope many still enjoy reading it.

Thanks for the review.

Riley
Rebelghost85%s's Photo

Jan 20 2012 06:03 PM

(Chapter 1 Review)

I am really looking forward to this story and I'm so glad you're continuing it.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

I'm looking forward to telling it!

Riley
TrevorTime%s's Photo

Jan 20 2012 11:49 AM

(Story Review)

Yikes, after reading this first chapter, all I can say is that I am so glad I was cut as a baby. There is NO way I would want to go through all that as a teenager.

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

It's quite a journey - trust me!

Riley
Lisa%s's Photo

Jan 20 2012 11:08 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

Riley! Riley! Riley! I'm so glad you're posting this story! Since quite a few readers mentioned this in their review of "In Safe Hands" (still crying, btw), I've been eager to read it! =)

From what I gathered in the prologue, something was wrong under the foreskin, that's why Luke is being circumsized, right? I mean I've never really heard of any one other than babies getting circumsized in a hospital or at a bris.

Looking forward to the next chapter Riley! :)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Lisa. Yep, here it is. ET has a long way to go and there are some shocks and surprises along the way. And as to what's wrong with Luke? Well, read on MacDuff!

Riley
Remijay%s's Photo

Jan 20 2012 11:04 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

I remember this story Riley. The first time I read it, it was awesome. I can't remember though if you put that much detail in the first time... anyway, getting off track.

I really liked... you never did finish this story .. I have been waiting patiently... yay I give you an A+ very well done... ;)

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Other than tidying up a bit, the Prologue is as it was. The main thrust of the story wont change and of course you haven't seen the ending yet. Maybe it'll surprise even you?

Thanks for waiting - and enjoy the read!

Riley
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Jan 20 2012 10:48 AM

(Chapter 1 Review)

Ouch. What a hook!

To all those who want to ban circumcision, this story could be a revelation. But then again, noting human stubbornness, probably not....

View Post Reply from Riley Jericho (author)

Hi Dave - it got your attention then! Yep, it'll certainly touch on that...I guess we see where it leads us.

Riley