Jump to content


Welcome to Gay Authors

Confused? Check out one of our guides to using Gay Authors. I am here to ... Read  Write  Socialize  eBooks

If you need assistance, click  Contact Us  on the bottom of all the pages. You can remove this help box by  Signing In  or  Creating An Account  for free today!


13. …Just When I Thought Things Could Reach a New Normal Reviews

Westlake82%s's Photo

Oct 13 2011 12:05 AM

(Chapter 13 Review)

“You’re going dry for an entire fortnight?” Sebastian asked with wide eyes. He clearly thought that me holding it in for thirty days was impossible. I AGREE WITH BASS, Cooper will never last 30 days.
I told you before you were a CAT 3, but now you lept to a CAT 5. You are after his job, and his kids. We all know he is poorer then the others, but really JDRAMA, you pull no punches. He could be kid less, and jobless by months end. I just looked at the weather and those clouds are growing darker.
Meanwhile, he is stuck in his sexless relationship. 22 days. Ha!
I said she was a scorned woman, but Devon make me see why people stay in the closet.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

At least Cooper has someone to go through this with at this point, no? It would be one thing if he was still alone, but come on... losing the majority of your life is easier to bare when you have Chase to come home to at the end of the day, I'd say. More to come soon :)
Lisa%s's Photo

Sep 28 2011 02:57 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Wow, what an amazing chapter! :) I really think that Chase has grown up and matured (same as Coop). This chapter just proves it; he was the one who pulled back and stopped whatever was going to happen. He knew Coop would regret it and maybe even blame him, even though Coop started it. Coop would be angry with himself and take it out and transfer his anger to Chase.

And I totally did not see Devon almost ready to pack up and move to Chicago. Wow, I can't imagine how devastaed Coop feels. After all, he practically raised those kids working at home, while Devon was establishing her dental conglomerate. Now, I can't remember if I wrote this in a review already, but if the kids don't want to go with her, they may not have to. I don't know about the laws in Texas, but here in Connecticut and Jersey(where I'm from), at age fourteen I believe, the child can decide which parent he/she wants to live with. So Devon may not have choice about leaving them with Coop.

I also don't think Kyle should be Coop's attorney. I've always thought this and can't remember if I mentioned it. Isn't it a conflict of interest? Since they're friends?

Anyway, awesome chapter! And oh, btw: what's going on w/BHB's? Haven't seen any updates in awhile....

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks for the review and the compliments. I really dig them! The custody stuff unfolds slowly, but I'm hoping in a very resonant way. Of course, you're rit about the law allowing older kids to choose, but it isn't that easy. As far as Kyle still being coop's lawyer, I have to confess: I don't want cool to get alternate council because I feel like the cast of characters is bloated enoug :/ color me lazy, but it's quite that simple. More to come soon:)
cantwait%s's Photo

Sep 26 2011 11:46 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Love this story so much.
I want to hear more from Chase himself.
Looking for next update, ASAP.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks so much! I hope you'll continue to share your thoughts as the story moves forward.
Torontotop%s's Photo

Sep 26 2011 03:02 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Another good chapter! I liked the brunch scene and you are right it was very Sex in the Cityish :)
Hmmm problems with the wife wanting to move away, problems with the University. I suggest Coop gets a good lawyer and not Kyle due to their issues, perhaps someone Kyle recommends and of course Kyle can still offer advice, lastly Kyle should consult his lawyer before providing copies of his manuscript.
Really liked that Chase help back and just tried to be there emotionally, I hope he becomes the Rock that Coop needs. Coop has enough trouble going on his life with work, friends issues and his kids it would be nice if Chase's love helps see him through.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks fo the review. I'll tak a sex an the city comparison any day :) I won't tease anything, but let's just say that you're right. Coop has enough going on to warrant smooth sailing relationship wise. More to come soon:)
GeR%s's Photo

Sep 26 2011 09:16 AM

(Chapter 13 Review)

I had long been a Kyle/Cooper fan, but Kyle has certainly taken a hit by his actions with me. Chase is an interesting side, and has moved up the scale a bit now. I have been in situations where I really thought a physical contact would soften the blow, but in reality the talk by Chase was what was needed. For Chase to see the true needs of Coop, that talk was more urgently needed than sex, was a huge step for Chase. Up to this point, all Chase seemed to be was a self-centered, egomaniac, intent on his desires, with little or no interest in Cooper's needs. As for Sebastian, Spence and Kyle, the jury is still out. Thans for this chapter.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

You're welcome, George. Glad you enjoyed it. I totally agree with you what you said about chase. As fr that jury, I hope it comes back soon. Thanks for the review.
Daddydavek%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 11:21 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

To me the biggest news was that Devon apparently plans to take the move to Chicago along with the kids. That's the bottom line. Instead of dealing with that and contacting his attorney, Coop decides to assuage his feelings. While the scene with Chase was hot, and Chase played it just right, it still felt somewhat manipulative.
The fearless foursome (five with Winston) scene was indicative of all their longstanding foibles. Coop may not understand it all, but perhaps even he is beginning to understand it is all getting a little stale.
Coop having Kyle for his personal attorney is a problem. Kyle is not someone Coop can rationally deal with and he needs to have an attorney that can give impartial advice.
The subplot with the review of the book by the U and Coop's complete caving sounds suspiciously like a priori censorship. Morals clause or not, consenting sex among adults is no longer illegal in this country.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Hey. Thanks for the review! You might be right about Kyle representing Cooper, and that topic is breached here pretty soon. Devon does indeed plan on taking the kids with her... Another hiccup for Coop. Again, thanks for the review :)
peethree%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 09:56 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

I waited patiently for my Sunday update and as usual it was well worth it. It looks like CJ could be getting hit from all directions with job problems and his family moving away. I think the kids will fight to stay with him in the end. It really doesn't sound like Liz has that much time for them and I think when the kids really take a look they will realize that as well. Chase and Coop...pretty hot and glad someone pulled back since all Coop knows is complications. Interesting that he was thinking how simple things would be if he and Kyle were together. I hope he doesn't take the easy route.

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Hey! I'm glad it was worth the wait. You might be right about the kids, but expect Devon to present a compelling case. She knows she'll have to convince them to move. Mor soon....
C.K.%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 08:16 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

I always disliked Kyle. He was just this whiny and weak "thing" that got in the way (The List). And the further along this story goes the more I am beginning to despise him. HE's the one getting married to the perfect man for him that makes him sooooooooo happy...yet he's the most miserable of the bunch. PUTZ!!! I'm glad that Chase pulled back when Cooper wanted to move full steam ahead. Maybe Mr. Pallendrino is the real deal afterall.
Another beautiful chapter!! Posted Image

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed the chapter:) maybe chase is, maybe isn't. More to come soon
Conner%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 07:24 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Talk about coitus interruptus! That was cruel and unusual punishment! Posted Image I was ready. Coop was most certainly ready. All of a sudden it's, "Stop the presses!" Posted Image You just wouldn't believe the intense, gutteral groan I let out at that moment. I just need you to tell me that the 21 days is not real time. Pretty please?? Posted Image
Frankly, I'm of two minds on that scene as far as Chase's behaviour is concerned. I really want to believe he caught himself at the last possible moment and cautioned Coop about doing something he might regret. That is totally sweet! Posted Image On the other hand, Chase had to be aware that Coop was pretty vulnerable and Chase was basically setting himself up as a really great guy - as in manipulative. Until I work this out, I'm blaming the author for my nasty feelings! Posted Image
I believe Devon is in for a rude awakening once her kids get wind of the move to Chicago. Liz especially will tear a strip off her. Can't wait for that. Posted Image
One observation that I made some time ago but haven't expressed as yet is how difficult it is to like/accept the partners that our best friends choose. I have personal experiences around that and it certainly seems to be the case with our four buds here. Curious, isn't it, Monsieur?
All in all, a truly an amazing chapter, Jwolf!! Posted Image Posted Image

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Sorry to string you along with on, Conner. Glad you enjoyed the chapter though. I think you're right about th parters of friends. Coop called it out in a previous chapter, about Britney and Winston. You just have to hope your friend is happy, I guess. Also, I promise it won't be 21 actual days before actual sex. :)
andydandy%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 02:39 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Great chapter, and my god the sexual tension is killing me.

But the best part of this chapter, I have to say, is the brunch scene.
First of all the SATC analogy has never been more obvious, and it is quite well done so hats off to that!
Second of all the resentment Coop's friends have towards him because of their hatred towards Chase had me feeling as frustrated as Coop. The unwavering solidarity between Kyle and Spence is irritating at times, from Cooper's point of view. I am kind of eager to witness a confrontation between Chase and the posse. It seems on the way, but I guess I would have prefered a meeting with Spencer, since Kyle and Chase's "relationship" can really only go one way.

And finally congratulations on getting me to be as self-involved as Coop. I really don't want Kyle to get over him, which is against everything I said, being a fervent pro-Chaser.

Anyway great chapter, keep them coming Posted Image !!!

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks for the review! I couldn't help but stage a Carrie-esque brunch. Especially with everyone at odds. Couldn't help it. You're right to expect more confrontation between chase and the guys. His next step is to winner over the boys...
Naptowngirl%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 01:36 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

For me there's only a few stories that I absoulty love and look forward to reading at a time. Writing myself, working full time and being a single mom keeps me pretty busy, but I have to say this is one of those stories.... I freaking love it. I don't know what to expect from one chapter to the next and it's driving me crazy, but in a good way :D I've loved Kyle since "The List" so I'm just a goner went it comes to him...But you have put together a wonderful group of friends and reading about them totally entertains me to no end. Poor Cooper, I have a bad feeling about the university... :( And Devon, I don't like her at all so the Chicago thing sucks.... Now Chase...You are killing me here with this one *sighs* I don't dislike him I'm just indifferent when it comes to him...lol you know who I want together...hahaha but if he makes Cooper happy..*grits teeth* can't wait to see what you have in store next. Great chapter.... bravo!

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Wow, girl. Thanks for the awesome compliment. I really appreciate it. I'm glad the story is keeping you on your toes. More to come soon.
jinkies33%s's Photo

Sep 25 2011 12:37 PM

(Chapter 13 Review)

Sebastian, Spencer and Kyle are being totally unfair about the Cooper/Winston thing, but I suppose it's hard to get that trust back. And his book perhaps being a problem for the university, plus potentially losing his kids to Chicago are pretty fantastic developments I didn't see coming. You never let him catch a break. And then at the end with Chase? That kind of makes him seem like the real deal, but I bet something ends up going not so well. Great chapter!

View Post Reply from Jwolf (author)

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed. You're right about the trust being hard to win back. I mean, even at the end of your review you noted that something could still go wrong... It's a tough journey for those two :) Thanks for the review!
← 12. ...You Have to Take Things One Moment at a Time (Go back to 13. …Just When I Thought Things Could Reach a New Normal)
14. ...I Had Just What I Needed Just When I Needed It →